-My Favorite Places in Our Small Town-

If you are like me, you often times bash your own town. “Why is it so small? Why are the only restaurants either Mexican food or pizza? Why do we have so many empty buildings? Why….? Why…. ? Why?” I ask these questions regularly. Every single time that we drive through town I realize what my town doesn’t have, rather than the beautiful little gems that it does.

If you are wondering what place I live that could be as bad as I made it out to be, McDowell County, North Carolina. Honestly, it is not bad here, just a typical small town I guess. On every corner there is a grocery store, Dollar General, and/or a fast food place. I often times think that maybe all towns are like this, and I simply have a romanticized version of small towns from movies and tv shows(looking at you Gilmore Girls). But, if you live in a small town, hopefully, your park is not quite as creepy as ours.XD

Living in a small place and not a big city, you eventually try every restaurant, go to every clothing store, and see everything there is to see. The only perk of this is, you know which thing’s are good and which ones aren’t. You always know that you can play it safe, or maybe try that place that was utter crap last time.

My favorite things here are not much, but here is a list that I would recommend to anyone. This is a list of the top 5 places I would recommend.

-1.The thrift stores-

In my town alone, there are least 15 thrift stores. You may have more, but that’s a lot here. Most of the stores here are usually hit or miss. You can walk in one day and find a never-been-used Michael Kors sweater for two dollars, and then the next day the best thing you find is that really weird crispy bug in the window. It is never a constant, ‘Oh this place is always good!’. But overall, our thrift stores are pretty cool most of the time.

-2.Titans Pizza-

Ahh, yes, Titans Pizza.When driving down the road, you might pass Titans, and if you do, you wouldn’t know whether it was a car wash, hot-dog stand, or tanning salon. It is this small building, and one might wonder how a place that looks like that is open. But I promise you, get one pizza, whatever it may be, and you will understand why everyone I know would choose Titans over any other pizza restaurant. If you need suggestions ever, always go with the pineapple and cheese one, just trust me. Plus, they have these garlic bread sticks that are only like three dollars but will make you wish you were a bread stick just so you could roll around in the olive oil, garlic, and butter too. Yes, they are that good. And just to prove how small out town is, Titans is named after our local high school😂

*not my pic, but yeah, you get the main idea*

-3.JACK FROST!!!!!-

Oh my, oh my, oh my!! If you are planning a random trip to McDowell County anytime soon(because who doesn’t want to come here on a vacation?!) , IT HAS TO BE IN SUMMER! Why? Because there is another small shop, with stumps and pick-nick tables outside, and it has just screamed for the past 63 years, ‘Come eat my delicious ice cream!!’ I am not exaggerating when I say, the world’s best ice cream. It’s all homemade too. Their blueberry ice cream, chocolate chip mint ice cream, coffee ice cream, peanut butter ice cream, peach ice cream, peppermint ice cream, and any other that you may get, will change your life. But, you realllyyy, REALLY need to try their peanut butter ice cream in a waffle cone.

*also not my pic*

-4. Country Side-

Like I’ve already said once, we have Mexican restaurants and that’s basically it. But there is one very popular non-Mexican restaurant: Country Side. They have a little bit of everything. From BBQ, to shrimp, to salads, to some if the greatest desserts. A few years ago, Obama came and ate, so yeah, I guess you could say things are getting pretty serious(Napoleon Dynamite fans where you at😂). But really, Country Side does have amazing food. My personal favorite things are the coconut cream pie and the sweet tea lol.

*Oh boy how did you guess it? Not my pic either*

-5. Crooked Door Coffee House-

Everyone goes crazy for Starbucks, myself included, but Starbucks has got nothing on the treasure that is Crooked Door. Whether you are a coffee or a tea person, Crooked Door has it all. Right in the middle of Main Street, the small cafe has a large tea selection, and many different types of coffee’s as well. The creaky old steps leading up to what used to be a hotel, makes this coffee shop so comforting. Yes, their coffee is fantastic, but I will always be a hardcore chai tea latte fan. Honestly, their chai tea is quite possible my favorite drink. Plus, the building that it is in, is so rustic and cozy. The exposed brick walls, and shelves filled with magazine’s and books, makes it the cozy, dreamy, and lovely location in McDowell County. Crooked Door has to be my favorite of all of these locations I have mentioned. I genuinely could spend hours in that coffee shop.

Edit
 *Surprisingly enough, there are my own photos. See that chai tea? Doesn’t it look amazing? And that little piece of paper is taped onto glass in front of muffins, danishes and other baked things. If you can’t read it, it says, “Please do not tap on glass, it disturbs the bake goods”. I’m sorry, but that is flipping hilarious😂.

Okay, thank you all for reading, liking, and commenting(and follows would also be greatly appreciated lol)!! Do any on you have those little small town business that you love? If so, tell me in the comments or by email!

Want to see more of me and my everyday life? Click the links down below:)

-I N S T A G R A M-

•Personal•                                                                   https://www.instagram.com/abigailfledford/

•Faith and Mustard(blog)•                               https://www.instagram.com/faithandmustard/

-T W I T T E R-

•Personal•                                                                                         https://twitter.com/AbigailLedford

-P I N T E R E S T-

•Personal•                                                                                  https://www.pinterest.com/afledford/

Have an amazing day/night!! Bye loves!

6 thoughts on “-My Favorite Places in Our Small Town-

Add yours

  1. Loved this post! I personally live in the suburbs but on the outskirts of a city so have always wanted to go live in a small town even for a little bit! I love how you guys call the ice cream place a Dairy! Haha we don’t we like just call it the ice cream shop! Really enjoyed reading this!
    DaisyChainDreaming xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks!! It’s usually just called ice cream, but that specific shop(for some reason lol) is called a dairy bar. We have another ice cream place in our town that’s called “Dot’s Dairy-o”, so idk, maybe Dairy is a popular name for it and I just don’t know it😂

      Like

  2. My small town doesn’t have any of these things! We have churches, a dollar general, a gas stations, and a community college! That’s it! But it’s good to hear you’re starting to see the positives, maybe I can too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

